Reportback: UC Budget Meeting – Student Affairs

UC Budget Meeting (Th – Mar 12)
Hosted by SUA – Guests: Administrators of Student Affairs

A 2 hour meeting approximately. A presentation was given by SUA with intermittent discussion periods in between slides. Then a question and answer period with Student Affairs administrators, among which included Felicia McGinty.

According to Felicia McGinty:
-115 million dollars in cut to the entire UC confirmed
-Another 50 million dollars in cuts possibly, depending on the Obama Stimulus
-Net Cut can reach 450 million dollars (to UC system)
-Total UCSC cut totals 13 million dollars
-Of which, UCSC Student Affairs will be cut 3 million; 1.5m in programs and 1.5m in housing
-UCSC endowment has been affected by the budget crisis to some extent

Additional Notes:

-questions were raised regarding the general state of and how cuts will affect: AB540 students (undocumented), outreach to communities of color, among other things. Michelle Whittingham indirectly answered some of these questions by giving examples of successful programs in place (note: the lack of direct answers were abundant at the meeting and may have been partly due to the unfinalized nature of where the cuts were going)
-Most students in attendance seemed unwilling to submit to any cuts at all.
-In response to a question about student fees, Felicia McGinty said that certain fees (reg. fees?) go to UCSC, while some other fees are given to the UC system to divide up. She stated that most of the fees that students pay that go to the UC system are from there disproportionately distributed to the campuses with medical centers (particularly UCLA and UCSF). In other words, a good chunk of the money that UCSC students pay to the UC doesn’t actually go to UCSC. According to Felicia McGinty, George Blumenthal has been a strong advocate for this issue and has been lobbying the Regents to change the redistribution system of fees.

There was a comprehensive powerpoint presentation by SUA. For more information contact SUA. SUA Commissioner of Academic Affairs: Matt Palmer: mpalm@ucsc.edu or coaa.sua@gmail.com

For those interested: Student Affairs Organizational Structure

Budget Forum Powerpoint (courtesy of SUA)

Quote of the night:

“Its pathetic we live in a state that has a larger budget for prisons than education” -Felicia McGinty

8 Comments

Filed under Article, UCSC

8 responses to “Reportback: UC Budget Meeting – Student Affairs

  1. Good day! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  2. I every time emailed this web site post page to all my friends,
    as if like to read it afterward my friends will too.

  3. It’s awesome in support of me to have a web page, which is valuable designed for my know-how. thanks admin

  4. I’ve learn several just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you place to create one of these wonderful informative site.

  5. Wow, this post is fastidious, my younger sister is
    analyzing these kinds of things, thus I am going to
    inform her.

    http://tinyurl.com/ldrayf9

  6. First off I want to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question
    in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear
    your mind before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in
    getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in
    writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

  7. It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

